My Dancin’ Shoes!

One of the most frequent Zumba questions that I get has to do with what kind of shoes to wear to class. Here is the official word from Zumba Fitness, LLC:

“Zumba Fitness recommends that you wear ‘cross training’ or ‘aerobic’ style shoes. They provide the cushion and medial-lateral support needed for side-to-side movements. They also have low traction rubber for easy sliding and turning. Please be careful with ‘running shoes’ since they use a heavy tread on the bottom and are designed for forward movement.”

Our situation at Santuck is further complicated by having carpeted floors in the gym, which is not ideal for “easy sliding and turning”. So other than wearing my comfy old bedroom slippers, what choices does this leave me with? 🙂  Here are a few options that I have come up with that work well on carpeted floors:

CHOICE #1: Economy Option (“DUCK TAPE”)

Cost: $1 per roll

Believe it or not, I have a layer of tape across the soles of my cross-trainers! This gives just enough “slip” to allow me to turn and twist smoothly without undue stress on my knees or ankles. My heels are left untaped, which provides the traction needed not to slip too much! This way I can still put my old-but-still-supportive sneakers to good use. YAY!

Below you’ll see how I taped my shoes (which need to be re-taped soon… I’m wearing them out! LOL!)

Olivia with my "Duck-Taped" sneakers!

Also, here’s a pic of all the colors the tape comes in for $3.40 per 20-ft roll at Wal-Mart:

"Duck Tape" Comes in Lots of Pretty Colors! lol

CHOICE #2: $$ (“SLIP-ONS” or the new “ZUMBA CARPET GLIDERS”)

Cost: $15 a pair

Another option is to purchase a pair of “Slip-Ons”, sold online (Slip-Ons.net) and in dance stores. Zumba has also just revealed their own brand of “Zumba Carpet Gliders”, which will be available for purchase at the end of July. They are made to fit over running sneakers and allow for easy gliding on carpeted surfaces. (As I am ever loyal to Zumba Fitness, I will wait until they are available through www.Zumba.com and order them from there. I can order them in bulk at a small discount and have them available for our class to purchase from me. Saves money on shipping, too! Woo-hoo!)

Candace of "Fabulously Fit" in Tallassee, sporting Zumba Carpet Gliders!

CHOICE #3: $$$$$ Pricey Option (DANCE SNEAKERS)

Cost: $35-$100  

The third choice is to purchase split-soled shoes specifically designed for dancing on a variety of surfaces. However, unless you have been trained in dance for years, these shoes may cause quite a bit of discomfort as they typically do not provide the average foot with enough arch support. (I tried several different brands and had to return them all because they hurt my feet and legs. Booo!)

Leo's "NRG Wave" Dance Sneakers

 

 

So… what’s the best Zumba shoe choice for you? You now have several options that should fit any budget…  YOU decide! See you in class!!!

Zumba Love! ~Anne-Marie

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

